Soaked Applesauce Cake

I’ve been using this recipe for the last month or so, and have modified it to do an overnight soaking.  It has turned out fairly well each time, and I thought I’d share it here, since it’s easy, quick, and can be modified to your taste.

Soaked Applesauce Cake

the night before:
1 c. freshly ground whole wheat flour, or whole wheat pastry flour
1 c. applesauce, unsweetened
1 T whey, or apple cider vinegar
Combine in a medium sized bowl, and mix until the flour is completely wet.
Leave covered overnight on the counter.

The next morning (or afternoon :) )
-Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Mix into flour/applesauce mixture:
1/2 c. melted butter or coconut oil
1/2 c. rapadura, or your dry unrefined sweetener of choice
1 t. salt
1-2 t. cinnamon
1/2 t. ground ginger
1/4 t. cloves
(I usually just add spices to equal 2 t. total… depends on my mood and what I have more of in the cupboard)
1 t. baking soda
optional: 1 cup raisins or chopped nuts

Pour into a buttered 8×8 pan, and bake for about 40-50 minutes, or until the center is set.

It will be a very moist cake, but I prefer that as it makes it reheat nicely without drying out.
I usually double this recipe and freeze half.
Enjoy!

9 thoughts on “Soaked Applesauce Cake

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday to Me. (Applesauce Cake & Eggnog) « Encouraging Nourishment

  2. Pingback: Menu for February 7th – 13th « Cracking an Egg with One Hand

  3. Pingback: Real Food Challenge: Improving Your Grains « Cracking an Egg with One Hand

  4. I’ve had this recipe in my binder for months now. I just made it for today’s breakfast. It was so easy to get this soaking and set all the ingredients out last night and then mix and bake this morning. We had it with milk and fruit. My kids thought it was pretty neat to eat cake for breakfast. Little did they know, it was healthy!

    • Hi Kris-
      I’m so glad you and your family enjoyed this recipe! We usually add some raw whipped cream on top, and it’s even more delicious! It is favorite in our house too, and I’m looking forward to trying it with other fruit sauces as well. Our other favorite “breakfast cake” is the carrot cake from Nourishing Traditions… it’s more complicated (grating carrots, etc. ;) ) but very tasty, too!

  5. I followed the recipe exactly but used pear sauce instead of applesauce and… What´s good with pears? 1/3 cup cocoa! It was yummy and the texture was perfect!

  6. Hey, when you say you freeze 1/2 of the recipe… what do you mean? Do you freeze 1/2 of the cooked cake or 1/2 of the cake batter (after the soaking and such)?

    Thanks!

    • I mean that I freeze it about halfway thru baking time, although you can certainly freeze it before or after baking. I usually make two pans at a time, and pull the first pan out early. It makes it easier to not overbake it when I’m reheating.

  7. Pingback: Menu for March 20th – 26th « Cracking an Egg with One Hand

Leave a Reply

