What, no TV?

The TV is my shepherd,  I shall not want.
It makes me lie down on the sofa
It leads me away from the faith.  It destroys my soul.
It leads me in the path of sex and violence for the sponsor’s sake.
Yea, though I I walk in the shadow of Christian responsibilities,
There will be no interruption, for the TV is with me.
Its cable and remote control, they comfort me.
It prepares a commercial for me in the presence of my worldliness.
It anoints my head with humanism and consumerism.
My coveting runneth over.
Surely, laziness and ignorance
Shall follow me all the days of my life,
And I shall dwell in the house, watching TV forever.

Obviously, this is meant severely tongue in cheek.
If it offends to see Scripture misused this way,
I do apologize.

But it serves a purpose.

Our family chooses not to watch television.
Once upon a time, this used to mean that we would be spending more time doing other things,
like reading, hobbies, or even just talking.

But we had to cut out television because we were actually finding that we didn’t need it.
There’s a computer that allows us to find the shows we WANT to watch,
movies we want to see (and not pay $10 each to see),
and allows us the ability to fast forward those parts that really… HOW do they contribute to the storyline?!

We can’t afford cable, Tivo, or even a DVD player at this point.
So we’ve consolidated.
One computer.
One stop entertainment.
And, it makes sure that only ONE of us can be wasting utilizing our time on the computer.
🙂

What about you? Does your family have a television? Can you think of a good reason to NOT have one?
Or do you feel like it’s one of those things that can be managed with prudence?

Leave a Reply

