Biblical Submission: What it is, and what it is not.

I must apologize, as I’ve had this post ready for more than a week now, and haven’t found the time to post it.  Here is the first installment of the Bible study I am currently taking, and my responses to it.

Biblical Submission is NOT:
-Somehow feeling less important in the Kingdom of God compared to men.
-Allowing our husbands to walk all over us, with disregard for our feelings, bodies, or minds.
-Thinking that our opinions somehow do not matter in decision making (the man may have the final word, but we CAN and SHOULD give our opinions. (more on that later! :))

Biblical Submission IS:
-a choice we make to serve our husbands better
-a balance that God put in place for us!

So many people have taken Biblical submission out of context, out of balance, and we have found ourselves with more and more women out of the home… should we really be surprised?

I’m looking forward to learning about what God’s original plan was for us as women in the home!

2 thoughts on “Biblical Submission: What it is, and what it is not.

  1. Hey there sister Meg,

    I love this! So true! As we take God’s word and His original message out of context (whether in biblical submission, sharing the Gospel or teaching anything about God) we will always end up with some warped sense of our Creator and His original intent for creating man.

    I’m so thankful the Lord our God has graciously and mercifully chosen to give us His Holy Spirit who alone can give us understanding of all spiritual truths.

    I look forward to reading more about how God is working in your life dear sister! 🙂

    Bless you dear sister,
    Sunny

  2. Amen and Amen, Sister Meg and Sister Sunny!! For a month now, I have been quite passionate about understanding the commandments made in Ephesians 5:22-33, so much that I started a Garden Principles series on my blog. I think it’s crucial that we go back and look to Adam and Eve, the first husband and wife, in order to spiritually understand Ephesians 5.

    I am so eager for some feedback from sisters who are seeking an understanding untainted by the interpretations of the world. My posts are really long, but I tried sectioning off the 2nd part of it to make it easier to read.

    If you’re interested, here’s the first part: http://livealchemy.wordpress.com/2009/02/26/garden-principles-i-husbands-vs-wives/

    And the second part: http://livealchemy.wordpress.com/2009/03/24/garden-principles-ii-in-its-entirety/

    Be blessed! 🙂

Leave a Reply

