Real Food Wednesday

Here’s my contribution to Kelly and Ann Marie’s Real Food Wednesday

MollyShe’s cute, isn’t she?

This is Molly, our La Mancha.
She’s currently giving us a whopping gallon and a half of milk.
Per day.

If I had it together, I’d have the picture of the gallon glass jars sitting on my table this evening.
All 4 of them.

So I’ve been making cheese.  That blissfully smooth kind,
that somehow we justified paying $4 per little “log” for at the store.

I’ve got QUARTS of it now.

Here’s my lovely basic recipe –
great for when you just HAVE MILK.

1 gallon milk (I’ve used cow and goat with equal success)
1 quart buttermilk (optional, but not if you’re skipping the vinegar)
1 tablespoon vinegar (not necessary unless you’re impatient, like me)

Heat milk until it’s starting to separate into curds and whey (190 degrees, technically)
it took me about 30 minutes, stirring occasionally, on a medium heat.
(Use a heavy bottomed pot, and for heaven’s sake, if you’re still using aluminum cookware,
this is NOT the time.)
Turn off the heat, add the vinegar if you’re using it, and let sit for about an hour.
Line a strainer with a cheesecloth, and set it over a BIG bowl.
(This is to catch the whey, which, please, do NOT put down the drain…
tasty goodness right there!)
Start pouring.
Go slow, it’s hot!

Let drain until the cheese curds look dry, or until they are at a consistency you desire.
Jar up the whey, and use in recipes to replace the water, or milk.
I’ve used it in bread recipes with really good success – the loaves feel “fluffier”.
And it is supposed to be a good “drink” as well, but I’ll have to wait on that.
The cheese will store for 3-5 days in the fridge – keep it in an airtight container.

We had some with strawberries and honey this morning for breakfast.
Mmm…
Now that’s REAL FOOD.

3 thoughts on “Real Food Wednesday

  1. Yeah!! So great! All I can say is you are gonna have some mighty fine children being raised on that milk- I was raised on goat milk and I’m a tough old broad! And what a cute little goat! I want one!!!

  2. Pingback: Real Food Wednesday « Cracking an Egg with One Hand

Leave a Reply

