The Nourishing Gourmet: Simple and Nourishing Carnival

ng_simplenourishing

So I’ll be honest.
I love Kimi’s blog.
She’s the reason I continue to work away at this Nourishing way of life.
Her blog opened up a world of others for me (Lindsay at Passionate Homemaking, Laura at Heavenly Homemakers, Kelly at Kelly the Kitchen Kop… the list could go on (and it has… check out my blogroll!)) and I encourage you to take a look if you’ve somehow missed her in your blogosphere.

Today Kimi is hosting a Simple and Nourishing Carnival,
allowing us to come together and share our ideas and recipes
for food that nourishes our bodies without depleting our time (or wallet!)

Since our biggest source of nourishment around here right now is milk,
I’m going to share a recipe I use when everyone’s tired of drinking
MILK
but we still need to keep drinking!

Mama’s Milk Mustache Maker
serves 2

1 pint milk (goat, cow, preferably raw)
honey, to taste
cinnamon

Heat milk gently over low heat.
Add honey, and warm until honey dissolves.
Move off heat, and beat until frothy
(I use a whip… this also helps cool the milk for little tongues)
Pour into glasses, sprinkle with cinnamon.
Serve.
… and watch your young children promptly fall asleep.

I love that it helps them think they aren’t really drinking “milk”,
but a treat.
And I LOVE that it’s the traditional remedy for sleeplessness before bed.

Simple, nourishing, and traditional.

Make sure to check out Kimi’s blog : The Nourishing Gourmet for more fantastic ideas on simple nourishing food!
(and on a side note, find and MAKE her recipe for chocolate ganache
I dare you not to eat the whole bowl.)

3 thoughts on “The Nourishing Gourmet: Simple and Nourishing Carnival

  1. Awwww…..thanks so much for your kind words! They mean a lot to me! And I love your simple recipe, as it was one of my favorites before I had to go “dairy free”. I would also sometimes had just a tiny bit of almond extract. Yummy!

Leave a Reply

