Titus 2 Thursday: Running errands to the Glory of God

This morning’s post was written by Stacy McDonald. She is the wife of Pastor James McDonald of Providence Church and Family Reformation Ministries. She is the mother of ten precious blessings, and the grandma of one treasured cuddle bug, so far! Surely, she is and does other things, but these are the most significant to her.
Stacy is also the author of Raising Maidens of Virtue and co-author of the popular new book, Passionate Housewives Desperate for God

Have you ever received an email from a sister in Christ and it was so encouraging that you felt it would be a crime for it to sit “wasting” in your inbox? That’s what happened to me this afternoon. My friend, Jennie Chancey, (yes, she’s the one I wrote the book with, Passionate Housewives Desperate for God) sent me an email detailing an experience she had today and I knew it would encourage you too. So with her permission, I’m posting it here.
It’s happened to all of us – you’re out in public thinking your children are being very noisy—perhaps even somewhat disobedient—and someone stops to tell you how “well behaved” your children are. That’s what happened today to Jennie, mother of seven blessings. Listen to how she gave God the glory:
Howdy!
I had to go to the eye doctor to pick up a prescription, and then go to the car service place to get the oil changed in the van. I loaded everyone into the van at 8:30 a.m., taking the double stroller so it would be easier to tote the twins (Alex is just not big enough to carry one yet). There was a long wait at the car shop, so we went into the waiting room, which, thankfully, has a huge couch that fit all of us (I kept the babies in the stroller).

They also had decent children’s books there, so we sat together and read for about twenty minutes. Then the children got up to watch cars going through the wash bay (including our van, which got a discount wash with the oil change). The interior of the waiting room has windows that look into the wash bay – fun! Several other people were in the room with us, including two women in business attire with briefcases (one waiting for her BMW) and another lady who looked about my age with a girl around 18 months old.

After watching us for 20 minutes, she said, “Are all these children yours?” I smiled and said, “Yes, they sure are! And my oldest isn’t here; he’s traveling with my husband today.” She shook her head in amazement and counted the rest of the children, then asked me their ages. When I told her, she said, “My mother had ten of us, and I honestly don’t know how she did it. I can’t manage one!”

Then she went on to say, “Mom says kids are worse these days; it was easier to have children back then.” I shook my head and said, “It’s not that kids are worse at all; children have always been prone to foolishness. It’s just that parenting takes a lot of hard work. It’s a 24/7 job.”

While I was telling her this, I had Tucker climbing up and down me and pulling my hair and Belle and Felicity trying to keep sticky mints in their mouth (which kept ending up in their hands). She looked at me in amazement and said, “Girl! You are still smiling! How do you do it?” The woman sitting next to her looked up and said, “She’s superwoman. That’s how!”

I shook my head again. “I am definitely NOT superwoman! This really is hard work, but it’s worth it. If you want to enjoy your children, you’ve got to invest a lot in them. I’m not doing it perfectly, but it can be done.” I looked at the cute little girl the lady was holding and said, “If you have more and you train them, it will get easier!” Her mouth dropped open. She told me I must be just like her mother, and she didn’t think anyone was like her mother.

I shared again that there is nothing special about me – it’s the grace of God. So, for 30 minutes this morning, I was given an opportunity to share hope with a woman who was really clueless – not bitter or resentful about motherhood; just clueless! She has never seen it done and had no idea there was a plan for sanity.

The funniest thing is that, to me, my children were not being very obedient. I had told them all to sit still on the couch and not move, but the girls kept getting up or bouncing. In my eyes, they were being hoodlums. But as we all walked out the door, this gal called after me, “Those are the best-behaved children I’ve ever seen. They sat so quietly and so still! You are doing a good job, girl!” I smiled and thanked her, but, inwardly, I was chuckling. I’d only seen the bad behavior, but to her, it was angelic compared to what she expects.

Jennie

We can be a witness wherever we go—a witness to the grace of God and the beauty and loveliness He has created in families living life for His glory. Keep up the good work, ladies!

Join me on Thursdays when I share one of the At The Well – Pursuing Titus 2 devotionals that has made an impact on my daily walk with the Lord as a mother and wife.

Leave a Reply

