Titus 2 Thursday: The hypocrisy of feminism, part 1

This Thursday’s post was found through the Ladies Against Feminism website, an awesome resource if you would care to browse for… well, a while! 🙂
The young lady who posts at True Femininity has some excellent ideas, and I would encourage you to take a look.

True Femininity is a young woman  who is a homeschool graduate working towards becoming feminine in the way her Creator intended her to be. Her blog chronicles her journey towards that goal, as well as contains her thoughts on some of her favorite interests: sewing, homemaking, cooking, frugal living, quiverfull, homeschooling, theology, modesty, and homebirth.  Join her as she puts off her old ideas about femininity (based on what the world taught me) and learn what femininity truly is.

Any of you who are stay-at-home moms or have considered staying at home know the reactions that people will give you when you inform them of your choice. Feminism has been in place long enough so that pretty much everyone (even young teenagers) know that staying at home is not a proper goal or aspiration for a woman (on the other hand, if you are a man and stay home, your choice will be praised by the same feminists). Work done at home is considered to be demeaning, mindless, boring, repetitive drudgery if done by women. Work outside the home –whatever it might be–is liberating, empowering, valuable, exciting, and beneficial to society as a whole.

I’ve faced the negative reactions many times when I am asked the question that every college student has to hear a trillion times before they graduate: “What are you going to do after college?” I dread the question. I’d rather not have to tell someone that I’m getting married and plan on staying at home, not because I’m ashamed but because I’m tired of defending myself. I don’t have time to give a detailed analysis of the ills of feminism to every new acquaintance that asks about my plans for the future. It’s gotten to the point that I prefer telling people I don’t know what I’ll do after college.

When I actually do tell people what I’ll be doing, I feel the awkward silence. If they know me well, they’ll launch into the, “Isn’t that wasting your talent?” Well, is it? Is it wasting my talent if I put it to use efficiently operating a household, working out of love for my husband and children? Is it a waste if I see the efforts of my hard work benefiting those that I love most? Or would it be better if I poured out the best hours of my day for people I don’t know?

I find it especially ironic that the people who shout about how boring, repetitive,and stifling staying at home is, are the same people that would praise the woman who goes to work in an office, confined in a cubicle doing data entry all day. I worked for two summers in an office, and let me tell you the work is REPETITIVE. It’s not just offices either–factory workers, grocery store clerks, bus drivers–you name it, chances are it’s repetitive work. That’s just the way an industrialized society works: we practice division of labor in order to do things more efficiently. The fact that working at home is repetitive says absolutely nothing about its value!

In response to the claim that staying at home is “confining,” I personally feel that working at home will give me more freedom than I could have experienced in a work setting. I will be my own boss and divide my time up as I please. I get to assign myself my own tasks, and take vacations when I want. I won’t ever have to worry that I can’t get time off because my child is at home sick. Maternity leave won’t run out for me and there won’t be any commute. There are definitely freedoms that come with being in charge of your own time by staying at home.

Before I go on, let me explain my thoughts further so that no one mistakes what I am saying. I’m certainly not condemning the work that anyone does. All work is to be done unto the Lord. If women chose to stay at home, that is their decision, and I try my best not to judge them. However, I don’t want to let feminists get away with being hypocritical in their condemnation of homemaking. They can’t attack homemaking because it is repetitive and confining. Most work done in our society is repetitive, and I don’t think working at home is any more confining than an outside job. There are differences in the ways that each type of work could be called “confining” (for instance, by being at home, I will be around my children all day, which I suppose some would call confinement) or “liberating,” but homemaking is certainly not the only “confining” and “repetitive” choice!

Join me next week as I share the rest of True Femininity‘s thoughts…

Join me on Thursdays when I share one of the At The Well – Pursuing Titus 2 devotionals that has made an impact on my daily walk with the Lord as a mother and wife.

Leave a Reply

