Titus 2 Thursday: Why does everyone else seem to have it all together?

This morning’s post was written by Sarah Mae, from Like A Warm Cup of Coffee.  Sarah Mae has found her greatest joy in being a household engineer (A.K.A homemaker) living in Pennsylvania amidst beautiful Amish country.  She is the wife of Jesse, a super cool motorcycling husband, and the mama to three small babes.  She is on a mission (more of a journey) to become an excellent wife, loving mama, disciplined home educator (because she is so type-b), and grace-filled woman.

It’s been a rough few weeks months.

There are days when I don’t feel like myself anymore.  I feel like my hormones are controlling me – always tired, angry or sad.  Pretty much always, yea.

I hate it.

Then I feel depressed and lonely and my thoughts go crazy and I forget my true identity.

I look around and every other mom seems to have it so together – days filled with crafts and cookies and smiles and energy.  My dreams and desires are filled with those things, my reality is not.

When I bake cookies, I feel impatient with my babes.

When I plan a craft, I’m just to tired to follow through with it.

Here’s the thing, I know the truth.  I know that not every one has it all together and pictures often tell a different story.  But it’s hard not to compare.  It’s hard to remember who I am.  It’s hard to persevere and fight the good fight.
I want to do the hard things, but sometimes I can barely do the easy things.

Read the rest here.

Join me each Thursday as I share a devotional that has encouraged me in my walk as a wife and mother.

6 thoughts on “Titus 2 Thursday: Why does everyone else seem to have it all together?

  1. Just keep remembering the truth; that will bring you back to that place of grace and mercy. It’s hard not to compare ourselves to others. I certainly struggled with that when my children were young, but you’re a long ways along in the journey just being so certain of the truth of the rightness of your calling!
    May you be blessed with seeing rich fruit in your children.

  2. Thank you so much for writing so truthfully! You summed up my feelings of failure so well: “I want to do the hard things, but I can barely keep up with the easy things right now.”

    So aside from the spritual encouragement that we’ve gotten, I have to say this: The house may be a mess, and the laundry is piled up in the chair, but the baby is well attended to and safe.

    I also noticed from reading someone else’s blog, that we don’t have feedback that shows whether we’re doing a good job, accomplishing anything, etc. The only feedback I’m getting seems to be the dishes still in the sink.

    So now every time I’m out in the world and someone admires the baby, they always say, “what a happy baby!” so now I’m translating that to myself to mean “what a great job you’re doing with him!” It’s been working a little.

    Then there’s the sampler my mother gave me:

    “Dusting and cleaning must wait for tomorrow;
    For children grow up, we’ve learned to our sorrow.
    So, hushabye cobwebs, dust bunnies go to sleep;
    I’m rocking my baby, cuz babies don’t keep!”

    Saw the title of your post on one of you comments elsewhere, and I just had to come over, because that’s just how I’ve felt for the last few months as well.

    • I wish I could take the credit for writing this post, but it’s one of many incredibly insightful posts by Sarah Mae – be sure to take a look at her site (the link is in the intro to this post above).

      I’ve never really struggled with feeling like a failure as a mother… until after my first child was born! 😉 It is always so encouraging to find “others like me” – thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

