Titus 2 Thursday: Responding to negativity with encouragement

This morning’s post was written by Shannon – a wife, a mother to two little boys, a homemaker, a beginning gardener, a cook, a nourishing foods enthusiast and a lover of all things natural.  She blogs at Nourishing Days.

It is not lost on me that the majority of my acquaintances – family & friends included – do not approve of my chosen ‘vocation’. We live in a world where getting paid to nourish or care for other people’s families is a respectable position. But if we do that work for our own loved ones instead of earning a paycheck, well then it is drudgery and we have either been coerced into it or are perceived as too stupid to know better.

Read more here.

Join me each Thursday as I share a devotional that has encouraged me in my walk as a wife and mother.

4 thoughts on “Titus 2 Thursday: Responding to negativity with encouragement

  1. I really appreciate this. It came at a time when I really needed to read it. Thanks for commenting on my blog so that I could find yours! I feel like i’m in many of the lines you mention. I’m grateful for your encouragement!

  2. This is such a positive message and I appreciate you posting it. Especially at a time where I’ve been contemplating getting a paying job in the past few months. It’s not felt right to my husband and I…this time in my son’s life (19 months old) is so fleeting and I get sick thinking of missing it.

    • I know what you mean, Dusti! We made the mistake of allowing me to return to work after the birth of our second son, when he was only 3 months old. (!) It was probably one of the worst experiences for our family, and yet God worked it out to be a blessing anyway. 🙂 My husband finally got to experience how much “work” got done at home (since I wasn’t there doing it!), and I got to remind myself why I wanted to stay at home with our babies in the first place. All in all, it wasn’t worth the money, nor the time away from family.

Leave a Reply

