Real Food Challenge: Fats You Shouldn’t Cook

Week Two, Day Ten Challenge
Fats You Shouldn’t Cook

One of the reasons I enjoy doing these types of challenges is because it keeps me on my toes!
We cook a great deal with butter – mostly because it’s what I have ready access to,
and also because I LIKE IT.
🙂

Today’s challenge was a reminder that I really need to be careful with cooking butter on high heat.
I usually remember this, but every once in a while, I forget and end up with smoking butter…
there goes the health benefits! 🙂

I also need to try to get more healthy oils into our diet.  Right now, I only have butter, coconut oil, and olive oil in use…
I would really like to start trying other (walnut, flax, … oh, and truffle would be nice, right? 😉 ) ones, specifically for making salad dressings.
We usually don’t eat a lot of salad until late spring/summer, but I do need to find some dressings that work for our family.

Week Two of the Real Food Challenge…
ten days down, eighteen more to go!

One thought on “Real Food Challenge: Fats You Shouldn’t Cook

  1. Pingback: Real Food Challenge: Week Two Recap « Cracking an Egg with One Hand

Leave a Reply

