Titus 2 Thursday: Motherhood or Moanhood?

This morning’s post is written by Serene Allison, daughter of Nancy Campbell, founder of Above Rubies ministry.  If you haven’t scrolled through the articles, devotions, and stories cataloged on the site, I would encourage you do so.  Often.
I have found SO much encouragement through them.

~~~~

“Who can find a virtuous woman for her price is far above rubies.” Proverbs 31:10

As mothers and wives we often spend wasted brain space mulling over just the opposite. Do these words sound familiar? “I can’t do it anymore!” “I don’t have the energy!” “I’m drained! I have nothing more to give.” “I’m too tired! I’m completely exhausted and wasted. I can’t do one more thing!” We talk ourselves out of any last vestige of energy, and by the power of our minds we feel even more tired than we really are!

I am often drawn to this text as I pray for God to mold me into the woman He desires me to be, no matter how much against the stream of normalcy it seems.

My Interlinear Bible, which is translated directly from the Hebrew, inspires me when I read, “Who can find an able woman? For her value is far above jewels.” The word “able” hit me with a giant thud. I wasn’t as pricked by the word “virtuous” as virtues seem to abound in the feminine sex! I’m only being slightly sarcastic! But “able”! “Able”?

Read more here.

Join me each Thursday as I share a devotional that has encouraged me in my walk as a wife and mother.

3 thoughts on “Titus 2 Thursday: Motherhood or Moanhood?

  1. I’ve enjoyed looking through your archives of the Titus 2 Thursday posts, and really been blessed by linking to the other websites. Thanks for taking the time to share these – they are such a blessing!

Leave a Reply

