Titus 2 Thursday: Breastmilk, Ice Cream and Infant Feeding Schedules

In this season of what seems like never-ending nursing sessions, I thought I would share this wonderful essay that Mrs. Parunak wrote.

This morning’s post was written by Andrea Parunak. Daughter of the King, full time help meet to her knight in shining armor, and mother to four exuberant blessings. She blogs at Pursuing Titus 2.

There is a question that ranks right up there with childbirth method, homeschooling, and whether or not you’ll let your children watch TV. Proponents of both sides promise you a happy, healthy child if you follow their advice, and a maladjusted, sickly child if you go with the other side. There’s been a lot of rhetoric spewed back and forth, along with condemnation, hurt feelings, and accusations. What am I talking about? The mother of all parenting questions: Are you going to feed your baby on a schedule (or “flexible routine”), or are you going to feed on demand (or “cue feed”)?

I used to find the debate frustrating and bewildering. I knew what I believed in my heart, but I was disturbed by so many other Christians who just as strongly believed something else. Then a couple of years ago, I stumbled across some information that finally helped me understand how people could have such enormously different experiences with feeding their babies.

Breastfeeding is a supply and demand process, and the way the “demand” is communicated to our bodies all depends on something near and dear to the hearts of countless women: storage space.

Read more here.

Join me each Thursday as I share a devotional that has encouraged me in my walk as a wife and mother.

Leave a Reply

