Titus 2 Thursday: “Fair” is where they sell pigs.

This morning’s post was written by Rina, a wife and mother of five children, ages 7, 5, 4, 2, and 11 months. She is a Torah-observant, charismatic Christian who believes in the Baptism of the Holy Spirit, Salvation by grace through faith, and obedience to the commandments of God as an expression of her love for Him. She blogs at Into Still Waters and Laundry and Laughter.

piggies-pigs-pigletts-1131168-l1

I’m sitting here watching my children play a game of domino’s. They play with their pieces face-up where the other players can see them, and my four year old watches closely to see what pieces her sisters have in their possession. She doesn’t do this to her own advantage. Instead, she carefully considers what the other players have in order to play the pieces that will help them to win. Sometimes, she’ll even help her sisters beat her, telling them which pieces to play so that they have the advantage. The amazing thing is that she genuinely wants her sisters to beat her. She takes tremendous satisfaction in each victory they obtain and never feels the need to win against them.

I’m in awe of this kind of behavior coming from my four year old, but not necessarily surprised. We have tried to teach our children to be happy when something good happens to their siblings and not to them, and we have never tried to be “fair” with our children.

Read more here.

Join me each Thursday as I share a devotional that has encouraged me in my walk as a wife and mother.

2 thoughts on “Titus 2 Thursday: “Fair” is where they sell pigs.

  1. First of all, I love this concept of being unfair! Good food for thought!
    Meg, I saw your offer to help with my real food and religion series over at Simply Real. Email me and I will get you the details – Thanks!

    • I thought it was a pretty unique perspective myself, which was why I passed it along. 🙂 The idea of “fairness” is so ingrained in us these days, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

