Vegetable Frittata

One of my favorite “fast foods” is a frittata.
Now, I LoVe quiche, and that was a mainstay in our diet for a long time…

But then the second, and third, child arrived.

And pie crust (particularly one that has had its phytates properly neutralized), is a beast some days.
I actually have an awesome pie crust recipe that you can just press in the pan,
BUT I DIGRESS.

Here’s my recipe for a crust-less quiche ๐Ÿ™‚
(otherwise known as a frittata)

Preheat your oven to 375ยบ F.
In a deep saute pan (mine is 2.5 inches deep, and holds everything perfectly), combine:
1/2 c. butter
4 cups diced vegetables, which for me always includes:
1 diced large onion
1 small head of garlic
4 small red/yellow/sweet potatoes
and then the rest is whatever vegetable I happen to have on hand.
Summer squash, turnips, roasted squash (butternut or acorn is divine), tomatoes, eggplant,
yellow beets (the red are also tasty, but tend to turn everything pink. :-)), carrots, celery,
more potatoes, peppers, kale, spinach, beet greens, well…
you get the idea.
๐Ÿ™‚

Make sure all your veggies are diced about the same size – this keeps the cooking times quick,
and to keep myself on time, I usually just dice the veggies straight into the pan by order of “needs to cook longer” (potatoes, carrots, etc.)

Saute the vegetables on a medium heat until they look softened, about 20 minutes.ย  You don’t have to have them fully cooked – they’ll finish in the oven.
Season them at this point.ย  I stick with salt.ย  I like the flavor of the vegetables to really show up.

While the vegetables are sauteing, beat 20 eggs with 2 cups of milk (or cream, if you feel so indulgent).
If I’m a little short on vegetables, I’ll add some of our homemade goat ricotta cheese, too.

Pour the egg mixture over the softened vegetables, and stir once.ย  Let it continue to cook over medium heat until the edges are just set.
Place in the preheated oven for about 40 minutes until fully set.
I usually add some shredded cheese on top about 10 minutes before I pull it out of the oven.

*side note*
I often get a souffle effect in the oven – I’ve had the frittata end up touching the roof of my oven…
So keep an eye on it ๐Ÿ˜‰

Let cool slightly, and serve cut in wedges.
We serve this for breakfast, lunch or dinner, with a side of salad or wilted greens.
It’s fantastic!

Variations on the Theme:
– potatoes, kale, chicken sausage
– spinach, potatoes, leftover pot roast
– beets, sweet potatoes, beet greens
– whatever you’ve got left in your fridge, just equal it to 4 cups. ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “Vegetable Frittata

  1. Pingback: Menu for May 30th – June 5th « Cracking an Egg with One Hand

  2. Pingback: Menu for April 11th – 17th « Cracking an Egg with One Hand

Leave a Reply

