Soaked Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

I had pretty much given up on cookies – at least making them “healthy”…
I make some really tasty cookies with unbleached white flour,
but…
that’s really reserved for extra-special-almost-never kind of treats.
(My theory is if I’m going to take the time to make cookies (or any other treat),
they should be healthy enough to eat – because who ever stops at “just one”…)
I have two more recipes I’m waiting until closer to holiday time to post – a snickerdoodle, and a molasses spice…
So check back. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Soaked Whole Grain Chocolate Chip Cookies

the night before:
combine
1 c. whole wheat pastry flour
1 c. rolled oats
1/2 c. melted butter (or coconut oil)
1/3 c. buttermilk (or water, although you’ll have to add 1 T vinegar as well)
and let sit tightly covered on the counter for at least 12 hours.

The next day:
preheat your oven to 350ยบ.
to the soaked mixture, add
2 eggs
1/3 c. dry sweetener (I’ve used date sugar, sucanat, rapadura, etc)
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Mix well.
Gently combine in
1/3 – 1/2 c. chocolate chips (I use dark or bittersweet)
1/4 c. finely chopped crispy walnuts (optional)
(If you have the time, let it chill in the fridge/freezer for about 20 minutes… makes it easier to scoop)
Scoop a tablespoon size ball of dough and place them about 2 inches apart on a cookie sheet.
Bake for 10-12 minutes, and don’t let them overbake – they will dry out really easily.

Let them cool on a wire rack, and store in an airtight container.
I have no idea how long they will last…
they haven’t been around long enough for me to find out.
๐Ÿ˜€

ENJOY!

7 thoughts on “Soaked Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Mmm… these sound SO good right now! Too bad they are a soaked recipe!! That’s the only thing I really appreciate sprouted flours for because they let me make food right away! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. My flour/oats/butter/buttermilk mixture turned into a solid mass overnight, and was extremely difficult to break up and mix with the rest of the ingredients. I followed your recipe exactly, so do you have any idea what went wrong? Or is this expected to happen with soaked flour? It’s my first soaked recipe.

    • Yes, that does tend to happen, and does happen more frequently in the cold months. I would add a little more buttermilk next time. You want essentially a “cooked oatmeal” consistency after soaking.

Leave a Reply

