Hidden Pathway to Healing: Herbs for the New Mama

We are leaving this week to visit our dear friends Peter and Erin for the delivery of their first baby…
(I’m about 99.9% sure it’s a boy, but we made a “pink card” just in case! 🙂 )

I have been interesting in herbs for a long time, but only really began to use them daily when pregnant with our second son.
I will likely post about the pregnancy infusions another time, but today I wanted to share some of my personal favorites for the NEW mama.

There are fantastic, licensed herbalists out there – I am not one of them. Please take the advice of your doctor, or health practitioner into account before using ANY of these preparations.

Healing Sitz Bath blend
2 parts dried comfrey leaf
1 part slippery elm bark
1 part milky oat tops (I’ve used regular rolled oats, too. :-))
1/2 part chamomile
1/4 part lavender
1/4 part epsom salts

Combine herbs and mix gently.  Use 1 c herbs to 2 quarts of boiling water.  Stir the herbs to dissolve the epsom salts.
Cover, and let steep until lukewarm. Strain.
Use in a squirt bottle, or, for best effectiveness, pour tea into a large bowl, place in bathtub, and sit in it! 🙂

Mama’s Nursing Infusion
1 part dried nettle
1 part dried red raspberry leaf
1/2 part dried alfalfa leaf
1/2 part milky oat tops (or oatstraw, or just plain oats!)
1/2 part milk thistle seed (or blessed thistle seed)
1/2 part fenugreek seed
1/4 part fennel seed (you can alternate with anise or coriander, but avoid peppermint – it can decrease your milk supply)
Use 1 T herbs per 1 cup of boiling water.  Let steep for 15-20 minutes covered. Sweeten with honey, if desired.

You can read more fantastic postpartum ideas here.  If you do try these preparations, stop back by and let me know! It’s always nice to get feedback. 🙂

Thanks!

One thought on “Hidden Pathway to Healing: Herbs for the New Mama

  1. I have a friend who just delivered her first baby as well and this sounds like an awesome gift! I remember after I had my two babies, wow, it was incredibly uncomfortable for a lot longer then what I expected!! 😦 I am going to give this to my friend, and if it works for her, I’ll make some for ME! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!!

    Anne

Leave a Reply

