Rich Beef Stock

I’m fairly certain that my children would happily live on my broth and biscuits if I would let them.
Especially during the cold weather. 🙂

Here’s my favorite way to make beef stock.

1/2 gallon beef stock bones (I go by quantity, not weight)
2 large yellow onions, chopped
2 cups of celery, chopped
2 cups of carrots, chopped
4 fresh bay leaves
1/4 cup black peppercorns
1/4 cup coarse sea salt (I prefer to use the Celtic Sea Salt)
1/4 cup raw apple cider vinegar
cold water, to cover

Brown the stock bones in a large stockpot over medium-high heat.  Add onions and celery, stirring until nearly translucent.  Add carrots, water, and vinegar.  Turn off heat, and allow to sit for 2-4 hours.
Turn your burner on low, cover (I usually have to keep my lid tipped a bit), and allow to gently simmer for 12-24 hours.  If I start the stock before I go to bed, it is ready by the next night after dinner, when I have more time to strain and jar it.  Ladle the finished stock into jars (I’ve also used our leftover BPA free plastic bottles, if I’m planning on freezing the stock).
I use a strainer set into my funnel, and that lets me strain and fill at the same time.

 

IMG_8214
There’s not much more satisfying than using homemade stock in your food.  I prefer to cook all our beans in beef stock – it gives a great depth to them!
Enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Rich Beef Stock

    • Stacy –
      It’s awesome. I love doing it… and it’s one of my favorite ways to use beef stock, which normally has such a strong flavor it’s hard to use it otherwise (at least at our house…) Let me know if you like it!

    • I love to get real grass fed beef bones, but I rarely have the chance… I’m willing to handle plain organic ones, but I do love the flavor difference (yes, there is one!) that comes from real pastured animals.

      • This is SO nutty that I found your recipe. I am currently trying to get the extras out of the freezer (pork fat is rendering for suet as I type this) and my next big bag is beef bones. We only buy grass fed local meat so our 1/2 cow from the summer has to mooove over for the pig we bought this month. I take all of the ‘extras’ from the butcher and am learning how to use them Sally Fallon style! Thanks for your timely post. I saw your comment on the g/f ginger snaps at Keeper of the Home.

      • I’m so glad you found it! 🙂 I make beef stock once a month, so I know how that big bag of bones goes. 😉 Thanks for stopping by!

  1. How many bones in 1/2 gallon? Also, I am not able to use apple cider vinegar at the moment, can this be replaced with lemon juice without making a huge difference in taste? Thanks for this great recipe! Wish I could do the biscuits, but will settle for this wonderful beef stock on it’s own!

    • Hi Cathie –
      I usually estimate about 4 lbs of bones in a half gallon. You can absolutely use lemon juice to replace the ACV, and I haven’t noticed a big difference in the taste (I usually double the amount of lemon juice when I replace the ACV in my chicken stock – I really think the flavor taste great with the lemon!). Just bookmark the biscuit recipe… they are GREAT! 😉

Leave a Reply

